## SEPTEMBER 14, 2010 MINUTES

At a meeting of the Advisory Committee on Socially Responsible Investing, held on Tuesday, September 14, 2010, in Conference Room #520, Mudd Building, the following members participated:

Jack McGourty, Faculty (Chair)	Arnie Friedland, Alumnus		
Kesha Cash, Alumna	Shearwood McClelland, Alu	mnus	
Marco Castaldi, Faculty	Peter Rosenblum, Faculty		
Carlos Cuevas, Student	Matt Roskot, Alumnus		
Klaartje De Schepper, Student	Anne Sullivan, Administrato	r	
Alison Ferris, Student			
The following members sent an explanation of their absence:			
Marc Levy, Faculty			
The meeting was called to order at 6:05 p.m. The Chair led a round of introductions for new and returning members.		Call to Order and Introductions	
The Committee approved the minutes of its meeting on May 11, 2010.		Approval of Minutes	
The Chair gave an overview of the Committee structure, activities, and member responsibilities. He urged members to visit the ACSRI website and read the 2008-2009 Annual Report for detail on the Committee's work last year.		Overview of the Committee	
The Chair addressed the overall structure of the year, noting that during the fall the Committee takes time to gather information and brief itself on the issues that are likely to be hot topics during proxy season, as well as to deal with any additional issues that arise, and during the spring the Committee focuses on voting shareholder proxies.			
The Chair mentioned the Annual Agenda, which is presented to the University Senate each winter, and provides an overview of the activities the Committee hopes to accomplish during the academic year. The Agenda will be drafted and approved during the fall.			

The Chair spoke briefly about the Sudan Divestment Monitoring Process and the formal Tobacco Screening Policy, both ongoing activities of the Committee. He noted that a Sudan Monitoring Subcommittee would need to be assigned at today's meeting. The Chair explained the purpose and recent outcome of the Annual Town Hall meeting, and proposed hosting alternative	
events open to the Columbia Community throughout the year. Alternative events include open Committee meetings, workshops, and panel discussions, with the intent of educating the students, as well as hearing from them. The Committee agreed to open its next meeting on October 12th to the students in order to educate them on methods of engagement and introduce them to the Committee members.	
The Chair explained that the draft 2009-2010 Annual Report will have to be approved during the fall. Members should expect a draft of the report in the coming weeks for review.	2009-2010 Annual Report
The Chair briefly discussed the calendar for this year. Guest speakers are scheduled to present on areas such as engagement methods, cluster munitions, and human rights. As discussed earlier, the Committee plans to host alternative events to the Annual Town Hall meeting which are open to the Columbia Community throughout the year. The Committee approved the draft 2010-2011 Calendar.	2010-2011 Calendar
The Chair described the role of the Communication / Outreach Subcommittee which will work to increase awareness of the Committee and attendance at its events.	Communication / Outreach Subcommittee
Klaartje De Schepper, Alison Ferris, and Arnie Friedland agreed to serve on the Communication / Outreach Subcommittee this year.	
The Chair described the responsibilities of the Sudan Divestment Subcommittee, to review research reports and recommend companies for the Sudan divestment and watch lists to the whole Committee.	Sudan Divestment Monitoring Process / Subcommittee
Shearwood McClelland, Marco Castaldi, and Matt Roskot agreed to serve on the Sudan Divestment Subcommittee this year.	

The Chair discussed the Proposal for Non-Investment in Cluster Munitions, which was introduced at the Town Hall meeting in 2007. He mentioned that a Subcommittee would need to be assigned to work with the student authors of the proposal and reach an appropriate response on behalf of the Committee. The Committee has not able to provide a formal response to the proposal and would like to do so this year.

Peter Rosenblum, Klaartje De Schepper, and Carlos Cuevas agreed to serve on the Cluster Munitions Subcommittee this year.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned Adjournment at 8:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

## Ruth Kelley Manager, SRI

**Cluster Munitions Subcommittee**